The structure of DZL


The DZL currently has 19 member institutions and 10 associated partners.

Airway Research Center North (ARCN)
Site Director: Prof. Dr. Klaus F. Rabe
Kiel University
University of Lübeck
Research Center Borstel
LungenClinic Grosshansdorf

Biomedical Research in Endstage and Obstructive Lung Disease Hannover (BREATH)
Site Director: Prof. Dr. Tobias Welte†
Hannover Medical School
Leibniz University of Hannover
Fraunhofer Institute forToxicology and Experimental Medicine in Hanover

Giessen/Marburg/Bad Nauheim
Universities of Giessen and Marburg Lung Center (UGMLC)
Site Director: Prof. Dr. Werner Seeger,
also DZL Speaker and Chair
Justus Liebig University Giessen
Philipps University Marburg
Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim

Translational Lung Research Center Heidelberg (TLRC)
Site Director: Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Kauczor
Heidelberg University Hospital
Heidelberg University
Thoraxklinik at Heidelberg University Hospital
German Cancer Research Center
European Molecular Biology Laboratory

Comprehensive Pneumology Center Munich (CPC-M)
Site Director: Prof. Dr. Ali Önder Yildirim
Helmholtz Zentrum München – German Research Center for Enviromental Health
Ludwig Maximilians University Munich
Munich University Hospital
• Asklepios Clinic Munich-Gauting

Associated Partners:

Berlin Institute of Health (BIH)
COSYCONET (German COPD and Systemic Consequences - Comorbidities Network)
The German National Cohort (NAKO)
PROGNOSIS (The Prospective German Non-CF-Bronchiectasis Registry)
PROGRESS (Pneumonia Research Network an Genetic Resistance and Susceptibility for the Evolution of Severe Sepsis)
Robert Koch Institute
University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel Campus
• University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck Campus

DZL Engagements