Latest Information

Logo of the Department of Medicine at JLU

Medal of honor in a twin pack

News 2021-252 EN

Ceremony via Livestream: Two DZL researchers will receive the Medal of Honor from the Department of Medicine at Justus Liebig University Giessen on June 23, 2021.

In an academic ceremony on Wednesday, June 23, 2021, the Department of Medicine at Justus Liebig University Giessen (JLU) will award the DZL researchers Prof. Dr. Werner Seeger and Prof. Dr. Dr. Friedrich Grimminger with the Department's Medal of Honor. Both physicians were involved in an outstanding way in the development of the Giessen Lung Focus in research, teaching and clinical care, the statement said. Prof. Dr. H. Ardeschir Ghofrani (Chair of Pumonal Vascular Medicine) will introduce the award winners during the ceremony, which will take place digitally as a livestream starting at 4 p.m. due to corona.

The welcome and introduction will be given by Dean Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Weidner, JLU President Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee and Dr. Gunther K. Weiß, Chairman of the Board of Management of the University Hospital Giessen and Marburg (UKGM). After the awarding of the Medal of Honor and the acknowledgements of the two laureates, virologist Prof. Dr. Stephan Becker, Philipps University Marburg, will give the keynote speech on the highly topical subject of "Questions and Answers on COVID-19 Vaccination".

By awarding the Medal of Honor, the Department of Medicine recognizes the outstanding achievements of the two university professors Prof. Seeger and Prof. Grimminger in the field of lung research. "We are pleased that both lung researchers have remained loyal to Giessen despite numerous other offers," emphasizes Dean Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Weidner. The dean's office is convinced that the international focus in pulmonary medicine will be secured in the long term, especially after the establishment of the Institute of Lung Health in Giessen, he said.

The cross-location importance of lung research was already documented in 1991 by the establishment of the first DFG-funded clinical research group "Respiratory Insufficiency" (headed by Prof. Seeger and Prof. Grimminger). The close cooperation between Prof. Seeger and Prof. Grimminger was the basis for the successes, according to the justification for the award. After the DFG Collaborative Research Center "Cardiopulmonary Vascular System", in which they assumed joint leadership as spokespersons and board members, the most notable achievement was the acquisition of the Excellence Cluster Cardio-Pulmonary System (ECCPS) in 2006, which was followed without interruption by the new Excellence Cluster Pulmonary Institute (CPI).

The department's "Medal of Honor" has been awarded since the 400th anniversary of its founding in 2007. The prize is awarded to personalities who have rendered outstanding service to Giessen University Medicine. So far, the award has been presented to ten outstanding university professors of the Department of Medicine.


Further information:


DZL Engagements