Latest Information

photo credit: Helmholtz Munich - Michael Haggenmmueller

Fabian Theis wins Leibniz Prize 2023

News 2022-494 EN

The German Research Foundation (DFG, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) today announced that Fabian Theis is a winner of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize – the most prestigious research award in Germany. DZL scientist Fabian Theis is Head of the Computational Health Center at Helmholtz Munich and chair for Mathematical Modelling of Biological Systems at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). The prize is endowed with 2.5 million Euros.

Fabian Theis about his new award: “I am super excited and grateful about this recognition! The past years have seen a rapid explosion of single cell genomics. The produced big data makes this a fantastic area to explore with machine and deep learning techniques to understand cellular decisions in health and disease. What also stands out is the immensely collaborative research - with teams truly spanning the globe. The future of medicine is data-based, and I hope to contribute to the foundations of a transformative biomedical era. I am delighted to receive DFG’s support with the prestigious Leibniz Prize.”

About the 2023 Leibniz Prize

Ten scientists from the fields of the life sciences, the humanities, social sciences, the natural sciences and engineering were selected from a total of 131 proposals for the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2023. The Leibniz Programme, established in 1985, aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding researchers, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified early career researchers. A maximum of €2.5 million is provided per award. To date, eleven Leibniz prize winners have received the Nobel Prize at a later stage in their careers.

DZL Engagements